Media student

Media Diary – Day 7 Summary

Well, every good thing comes to an end; this Media Diary experience was no different. After a week full of effort, I am writing my last diary post. I should say that I have learned quite a lot about my own media use habits. Some of them were eye opener, whereas there are also things that I never realized I do.

So to begin with, I have found out that I use both my phone and laptop as my main source of media. I use my phone – first thing after I wake up in the morning, when I am driving, on the bus and in the gym. I use it most to listen to music, then comes email, Facebook and news, then for making calls, watch videos and least for texting. I just found out today that I had hardly used 15 out of 1000 allowed texts per billing cycle. I have also realize that there are only 15 to 20 Apps that I use most on my phone out of over 60 Apps that are installed. I hardly send an email using my phone. The best I do is ‘Like,’ ‘ Share,’ and short ‘Comments.’ Anything other than that I would rather use my laptop.

Laptop, I have realized that I am in front of my computer at least eight to ten hours a day, which I expected it to be so. Beside the regular uses I also use it for my course readings. I do not have a TV yet. So, I should say my laptop is the second most expensive thing I own after my car. And at this point I am glad that I do not own a TV, because I get distracted very easily. However, I should say that I have really not got distracted this week. Now, that I know that I am in front of my screen for such a long time everyday, I think I should think about doing something to help my eyes.

Another thing I have realized is that there are only 10 to 15 websites that I visit most frequently. This is without counting the websites that are results from search engine use. I am not sure if this is normal. However, it is doing one good for sure, ‘Less Distractions’. The top websites that I visit most are Google, Facebook, Cricinfo, our class blog, my blog, UF website (including the UF library page), Gmail, YouTube, and CNN.

I have also discovered this week is that I hardly read anything from hard copies these days, since everything this days are online. The fact that I do not have any compulsory text book for this semester to follow adds to the fact. Well there is one that I am reading right now, Media Ethics at Work, but I use the PDF version of that. Newspapers, it is something I miss a lot. There are three reasons that I am not reading newspapers these days. One, because almost everything is online, and I am staying home all most everyday unless I have to go to my classes or the gym. Lastly, I hardly have time for it, which I don’t think is a right thing to say being a journalism student.

I also realize that I use my car music system for my iPhone. I hardly listen to any radio stations. I don’t even remember when was the last time I listen to radio when I was driving. I think this is a habit that I need to change and start listening to radio as well.

Next analysis that I have made about myself is this. There is this speculation that the traditional media will be replaced slowly by new media over time. I think this is something that is true with me. I don’t listen to radio, don’t subscribe or find a newspaper, and do not have a TV. My laptop and my iPhone do everything for me. The irony is that I have a MP3 player, a mini MP3 player (from Apple), and an iPod, which I never use and find them outdated. This last sentence that I wrote scares me. I am glad I am not thinking about iPhone5.

The amazing change I have seen in my media use is that, I could barely type 30 words per minute before I came to the US in 2006. Until 2004, I used to check my emails once every month if possible, never owned a computer, used a high speed internet only at work since 2005, and I had only heard about Wifi. Everything I did on using my computer and phone this week, would still comprehend to be more that my entire media (only internet) use per year prior 2005.

May be that is that reason, I am still not very vocal in using the social media. When I checked my social media uses pattern, I updating my status around 2-3 per month in last 2-3 years, changed my profile picture barely once a month. I used to follow people more than being vocal.

I do not make too much phone calls either. If I do not count those Viber calls from Nepal, there were only three people that I talked with, this week. My wife, my neighbor next door, and my friend with whom I go to the gym.

Basically, I see myself as someone who has almost given up the traditional media, but yet to become an efficient new media user. I might go back to TV once I have enough money and time, but I am still not sure about radio and newspaper. Online news, radio apps and podcasts have replaced it for me. It will be interesting to see if this will change after I graduate. I think this has more to do with college, class, and having minimal (almost zero) social life.

October 14, 2012 Posted by | Uncategorized | 2 Comments